Slipback – We Can Make It If We Try

Yes. I’m back. Ready? On tap: The Jones Girls (2x), Savanna, Sharon Redd, Cashflow, Loose Ends, The Sylvers, POAD, Shalamar, Jaki Graham, Stevie RJs Latest Arrival, Vaneese Thomas, Jean Carne, The O’Jays.

Slipback: We Can Make It If We Try

Click below to play or right-click then “save as” to download.

Would you like to subscribe to podcasts for iTunes? Go to Advanced -> Subscribe to Podcasts in iTunes and enter in the following link:


01 – The Jones Girls – You Gonna Make Me Love Somebody Else
02 – Sharon Redd – Can You Handle It
03 – Savanna – Never Let You Go
04 – Cashflow – Mine All Mine
05 – Loose Ends – Ooh, You Make Me Feel
06 – The Sylvers – We Can Mak It If We Try
07 – Pieces Of A Dream – Mt. Airy Groove
08 – Rocky Robbinbs – Time To Think
09 – Shalamar – I Can Make You Feel Good
10 – Jaki Graham – Round and Round
11 – Stevie Wonder – That Girl
12 – RJs Latest Arrival – Heaven In Your Arms
13 – Vaneese Thomas – Love In Your Eyese
14 – The Jones Girls – Nights Over Egypt
15 – Jean Carne – Don’t Let It Go To Your Head
16 – The O’Jays – I Want You Here With Me

Warning – there’s bass all over the place.

The Jones Girls and Sharon Redd (who are both giving bass and guitar) are followed up with the UK group Savanna, which features Leroy Osbourne on lead vocals (remember Sade’s “Nothing Can Come Between Us”?) and Ca$hflow from Atlanta, produced by Larry Blackmon of Cameo. Loose Ends’ slept on track “Ooh Your Make Me Feel” is followed by the hit from The Sylvers “We Can Make It If We Try” which was released in 1973.

Pieces Of A Dream’s instrumental “Mt. Airy Groove” (released in 1982) is followed by Rockie Robbins “Time To Think” (released in 1981). I would be remiss if I didn’t include some Stevie goodness with “That Girl” (released in 1982) from “The Original Musiquarium.”
Fast forward 4 years with the group from Detroit, RJ’s Latest Arrival with “Heaven In Your Arms” (1986) is followed up by Vaneese Thomas’ slept-on track “Love In Your Eyes” (more bass). I close it out with 3 classics from another one from the Jones Girls (couldn’t resist putting two tracks on by them thanks to TV One’s “Unsung”), Jean Carne, and The O’Jays. Hope you enjoy.

Like  to subscribe to these podcasts, enter this link manually into iTunes. Take it light.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.