OSW: Places And Spaces

Here we go.

Places And Spacecs


01 – Billy Ocean – Stay The Night
02 – Klique – I Can’t Shake This Feeling
03 – The Strikers – Body Music
04 – Instant Funk – I Got My Mind Made Up
05 – Donald Byrd – Places And Spaces
06 – Shuggie Otis – Inspiration Information
07 – Stevie Wonder – Smile, Please
08 – Brainstorm – We Know A Place
09 – Swing Out Sister – Breakout
10 – Kid Creole – I’m A Wonderful Thing, Baby
11 – Boz Scaggs – JoJo
12 – Isley Jasper Isley – If You Believe In Love
13 – Deniece Williams – Cause You Love Me Baby
14 – Tania Marie – Come With Me Now
15 – LaToya Jackson – Lovely Is She

This is probably going to go down as one of my favorites, as I had so many tracks that I wanted to drop in that were so diverse.  “Stay The Night” has always been one of my all-time favorites, while Klique’s “I Can’t Shake This Feeling” and The Strikers’ “Body Music” had not been heard in quite a while, and put me in the mind of Instant Funk’s “I Got My Mind Made Up” which is also included.

Quintessential classics from Donald Byrd and Shuggie Otis are followed by a track from Stevie’s “Fulfillingness’ First Finale” that I literally played 4 times in a row, it was so infectious. “Smile, Please” is graced by the vocal improvisations of Stevie and background vocalists by Jim Gilstrap and Deniece Williams.  This is followed by 2 uplifting tracks by Brainstorm and Swing Out Sister. Kid Creole then keeps the tempo going with the hilarious track “I’m A Wonderful Thing, Baby” which is followed by the soulful track from the one and only Boz Scaggs, “JoJo.”

After Boz Scaggs, I keep with he downempo theme with the Isley Jasper Isley track, “If You Believe In Love” which is one of my favorites from them. It’s followed by Deneice Williams’ “Cause You Love Me Baby” (which, coincidentally, is the second track here which she was a vocalist).  This is followed by the smoothness of Brazilian artist Tania Marie, with “Come With Me Now” and is followed by a very nice track from LaToya Jackson which I happened to run across.  The track “Lovely Is She” was written by her and her sister Janet Jackson, and in addition, has Patrice Rushen on keyboards, Paul Jackson, Jr. on guitar, and Nathan Watts on bass.

Want to subscribe to podcasts for iTunes? Go to Advanced -> Subscribe to Podcasts in iTunes and enter in the following link: http://ejflavors.com/casts/feed.xml

Have requests? Send an email to ejflavors at gmail dot com. For those who’d like to subscribe to these podcasts, enter this link manually into iTunes. Take it light.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.