Ashford & Simpson, Volume II

For your ears, the second set.

Ashford and Simpson, Volume II.


01 – The Boss – Diana Ross
02 – Bourgie Bourgie – Gladys Knight And The Pips
03 – Top Of The Stairs – Collins & Collins
04 – Don’t Send Nobody Else – Ace Spectrum
05 – I’m Every Woman – Chaka Khan
06 – Taste Of Bitter Love – Gladys Knight & The Pips
07 – Solid – Ashford & Simpson
08 – Babies – Ashford & Simpson
09 – Remember Me – Diana Ross
10 – Keep It Coming – Rufus ft Chaka Khan
11 – Love It Away – Ashford & Simpson
12 – Ain’t Nothing Like The Real Thing – Jackson 5
13 – California Soul – Marlena Shaw
14 – It’s In There – Jennifer Holliday
15 – Landlord – Gladys Knight & The Pips
16 – Keep Away Girls – Stephanie Mills
17 – Love Woke Me Up This Morning – Temptations
18 – Silly Wasn’t I? – Valerie Simpson
19 – I’ll Be There For You – Ashford & Simpson
20 – Let’s Go Get Stoned – Ray Charles

(Want to subscribe to podcasts for iTunes? Go to Advanced -> Subscribe to Podcasts in iTunes and enter in the following link: )

This set contains The Bass, I’m Evey Woman, and Solid, three thematic tracks that’s been a stapele since their release.   The track Bourgie Bourgie – the  vocal version recorded by Gladys Knight & The Pips, is included here also.  You’ll also notice that  You’re All I Need To Get By is in this mix, recorded by Jackson Five.

Lesser known acts, such as Collins and Collins and  Ace Spectrum are represented here, surrounded by tracks from The Temptations, Rufus and Chaka, Jennifer Holiday, Stephanie Mills, and Marlena Shaw.  Valerie Simpson’s solo effort Silly Wasn’t I? is also here- a fine effort that was released back in 1972.  And, yes indeed, the set ends with no other than Ray Charles in Let’s Go Get Stoned. Shoutouts go to Greg V, DJ, Shelton, Mike P., Ricky Mac, Andre,  Mike E., T Grundy, Theresa, Garfield, Detrel, and Soul Afrodisiac.

Thoughts? Always welcome. Requests? Send an email to ejflavors at gmail dot com. For those who’d like to subscribe to these podcasts, enter this link manually into iTunes. Also, please be sure to check out on GROOVMNT always keepin’ you in the loop. Take it light.

1 comment on “Ashford & Simpson, Volume II

  1. ms.alex says:

    ~ U bring so much to the light that we (I) didn’t know about. Thnks.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.