In Rotation, Volume 19 – November, 2008

A little on the late side, but here for you. The first of the fall rotations —

In Rotation: Volume 19, August 2008.
(Problems with javascript/browser? Click here.)

[Podcast/blend available here. Click to play or right click-save as to download.]
[Want to listen online? Click here.]

[Want to subscribe to podcasts? Use this link.]

01 – Jazzanova – Look What You’re Doin’ To Me Featuring Phonte [purchase]
02 – Siji – Take Me Away [site | purchase]
03 – Wayna – A New Scenery [site | purchase]
04 – Sonar Kollektiv Orchester – (I Got) Somebody New (Georg Levin) [site]
05 – Giovanca – Free [myspace | purchase]
06 – 2000 Black – Simple Sacrifice [site]
07 – Atjazz – With You Featuring Dawne B. & Hernandez [purchase]
08 – Joey Negro Presents The Sunburst Band – Movin’ With The Shakers [myspace | purchase]
09 – Amp Fiddler with Sly & Robbie – Blackhouse (Paint The White House Black) [site | purchase]
10 – Foreign Exchange – Take Off The Blues [site]
11 – Q-Tip – Believe (feat. D’Angelo) [myspace | purchase]
12 – Erik Rico – Let’s Stay Together [myspace]
13 – Kon & Amir – Come With Me [myspace]
14 – Leon Ware – Moon Ride [site | purchase]

Jazzanova’s Look What You’re Doing To Me is the first track off of the much anticpated LP Of All The Things. I definitely have to say that 2008 has been a golden year for Phonte, with more to come in 2009, I’m sure. Siji’s new LP, Ade, was recently released. One of my fave tracks off the CD, Take Me Away, is here, along with a solid track from Wayna, A New Scenery, off her Higher Ground LP.

Sonar Kollectiv Orchester has released Guaranteed Niceness, an LP with "electronic tunes arranged in an orchestra style. The revamp of Georg Levin’s I Got Somebody New is one of my favorites. I’m a big fan of Benny Sings and Wouter Hamel, so it should be no surprise that I’m a fan of Giovanca. Her Subway Silence was a nice surprise of 2008, with Free being one of the most played tracks off of the LP. The change-up in the middle of the track is an absolute killer. If you’re familiar with AtJazz, then you’re more than likely already familiar with the track With You, which has been re-released on the Full Circle CD.

Amp Fiddler teamed up with Sly And Robbie and I’m stiill absorbing the CD, Inspiration Information. I thought Blackhouse (Paint The White House Black was apropos- and a solid track. Foreign Exchange’s Leave it All Behind was released, and is quite possibly one of my favorite CDs of 2008. One of my fave cuts, Take Off The Blues with Darien Brockington, is included here (and please, please check out the LP). Big ups to Soulbounce for alerting me to it’s release.

Q-Tip’s Believe, with vocals by D’Angelo, is an obvious groove of mine. Raphael Saddiq and Norah Jones also appear on The Renaissance LP. Erik Rico’s is a guy to watch in the upcoming year. I’ve been grooving to the Stevie-centric Let’s Stay Together from the Journey Back To Me CD. Kon and Amir’s solid track Come With Me is then followed up by the one and only Leon Ware with the title track from his Moon Ride CD.

As usual, take a listen to the podcast for more info. Special thanks to Foundation Media, Ariel Publicity, Soulbounce, and Macedonia. Take it light.

Music Provided by IODA Promonet

3 comments on “In Rotation, Volume 19 – November, 2008

  1. james madison says:

    Yep! This is that STUFF!

  2. EJ!!! I heard that Blackhouse track on another podcast and couldn’t for the life of me figure out who made it! You always come through for a sista. love ya!

  3. EJ!!! I heard that Blackhouse track on another podcast and couldn’t for the life of me figure out who made it. You always come through for a sista. And you KNOW I am anxiously awaiting that Jazzanova cd being the stan that I am. Love ya!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.