OSW: Take A Little Trip

And here we go.

Old School Wednesday: Take A Little Trip

(Problems with javascript/browser? Click here.)

Podcast/mix available here. [Click to play or right click-save as to download.]
Want to subscribe to podcasts? Use this link.

01 – Michael Wycoff – Tell Me Love
02 – Earth, Wind & Fire – And Love Goes On
03 – Rufus featuring Chaka Khan – At Midnight (My Love Will Lift You Up)
04 – Fatback Band – Goin’ To See My Baby
05 – Shuggie Otis – Inspiration Information
06 – Johnny Hammond – Fantasy
07 – Level 42 – Starchild
08 – Minnie Riperton – Take A Little Trip
09 – S.O.S. Band – Weekend Girl
10 – Shalamar – Help Me
11 – Don Blackman – Holding You, Loving You
12 – Heatwave – The Star of The Story
13 – O’Jays – Help (Somebody Please)
14 – Tavares – Check It Out

This podcast has been challenging for me. As I stop and think about the number of OSWs that have been produced (approximately 150, give or take a few), I often feel like I need to take some time out and recharge. The self-imposed rules I have had (play no track twice within 6 months, and tracks must be at least 10 years old), and the amount of time it takes to do each one (3 hours at a minimum) have been more than a little work, and I’ve often thought about retiring. Thanks to this mix, however, I think I’m going to keep on doing this, and I’d encourage other podcasters to do the same.

I could tell you so much about each track, because every track has it’s particular groove for me, but I’ll keep it brief. Michael Wycoff’s Tell Me Love is one of the most underrated classics, especially considering the background vocalists, who worked primarily with Luther Vandross. Earth Wind & Fire’s And Love Goes On is from the 1980 album, Faces. Rufus’ At Midnight (My Love Will Lift You Up) is the quintessential jam session and is followed up by Fatback Band’s Goin’ To See My Baby, laden with some serious, serious drum licks.

Shuggie Otis’ Inspiration Information was way ahead of it’s time (just ask David Byrne from Talking Heads, who had Shuggie’s tracks re-released), while Johnny Hammond’s instrumental Fantasy and Level 42’s mid-tempo Starchild continue bridging the gap with pop, soul, and jazz.

Minnie’s Take A Little Trip is the track that I was listening to at the beginning of the month that made me smile, thereby giving me a little push to complete this. Atlanta’s own SOS Band’s Weekend Girl which is a very popular track being played on quiet storm stations everywhere, is followed by two sleepers. Shalamar’s Help Me (from 1982’s album Friends) which shines primarily because of it’s string and vocal arrangements are accentuated with a killer bassline, and unfortunately was not released as a single. The same holds true for Don Blackman’s Holding You, Loving You, with its stellar piano arrangement. The mix is brought to a close with my personal fave from Heatwave, The Star of the Story, O’Jay’s Help (Somebody Please) sampled by Total (among others), and Tavares’ very first hit, Check It Out.

Special thanks to Pil Hill for the intro drop (give that man some Coirvoisier, please). As usual, there’s a little more in the podcast, so if you’re so inclined, take a listen. For those who’d like to subscribe to these podcasts, enter this link manually into iTunes. If you have requests or questions, send an email to ejflavors [@] gmail [.] com. Take it light!

2 comments on “OSW: Take A Little Trip

  1. Nikki says:

    I was feelin’ that Minnie Riperton track too a few weeks ago. Had to use it in one of my podcasts as well.

  2. ms. alex says:

    ~ RETIRE..you say? I certainly hope not. I greatly appreciate each jewel you bestow upon us every week and the trivia that is behind every track. So enlightening..hope you for eva keep it up! God bless….ms. alex

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.